Engage! The Star Trek Thread

The Trek thread went a bit quiet at the end there. But never fear. I have been, and always shall be, your friend.

Interesting time for Trekkers with two new films on the horizon, a fourth of the reboot series and a Tarantino film, not to mention a second series of Discovery.

The Brain
    I'm a big Trek fan overall, though I have some gaps in my knowledge that hardcore Trekkies would probably find inexcusable.

Huge fan of the original series, maybe minus a few of the bad episodes (Space Hippies, come on...). I love the feel of it, the energy and hope, and the chemistry of the cast. Lots of classic stuff in that series.

TNG is my big gap, I've never sat down to really watch it outside of a smattering of episodes. It doesn't help that I'm the type who likes to watch from the start, and everyone knows the early stuff is tough to get through. I will definitely watch it properly eventually and probably become a big fan once it takes an upswing, but I've yet to tackle it.

DS9 is easily my favorite, it's the darkest and most mature of the Trek canon, especially in the second half. Character like Garak, Odo, and Kira get me every time, and that's just scratching the surface. All the Dominion War stuff is A+ in my book.

Big fan of Voyager as well, I always thought they could have made the show a bit grittier considering the premise but overall I still find it very good with some great characters mixed in with a few weak ones.

Tried very hard to get into Enterprise when it first came out, but gave up sometime in the first or second season. I love Scott Bakula but something about it just wasn't clicking. It just didn't have that Trek feeling. I was put off by the prequel aspect, and the ham fisted attempts to be edgy (the guy getting pregnant episode, pointless implied nudity). I heard it gets better with time but I'm not sure I'll bother going back, to be honest.